Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, it is here! That overly-commercialized holiday full of sweets, treats, flowers, cards, jewelry, and anything else you can think of that would express a persons love! Yes, it is an extremely over-done, commercialized holiday; but it is fun! I realize not all people think so, but it can be an enjoyable day no matter what your situation or “relationship status” is.

I used to dislike this holiday when I was in high school. I thought it was ridiculous and all the red and pink just annoyed me. It took a few years until I realized the “perks” of the holiday. Also, it doesn’t just have to be about that “special someone” but about appreciating anyone important that is in your life!

So what are the perks? Well, for one there is TONS of chocolate! If you are a girl, chances are you enjoy chocolate. I absolutely love it, probably a little too much actually! The best part about there being so much chocolate, is that the day after V-day, IT’S ALL ON SALE!!!!!! YES! This is when I like to stock up.

Another great thing about this holiday is all the flowers. Flowers are gorgeous and I believe one of God’s most glorious creations! Even if you don’t have anyone to buy flowers for or you don’t have anyone to receive them from, you can still enjoy them! Go out and buy yourself a nice bouquet of flowers, make yourself a nice dinner, and then eat some yummy chocolate! I guarantee if you do this you will feel better about the holiday! Spoil yourself a little, and enjoy it!

Again, like I said before, this day does not have to be just about that “special someone.” Get together with a friend and have dinner and a movie! Go shopping, go to the park and have a picnic, stay in and watch Netflix while eating a whole box of chocolates, just enjoy time with a friend! I spent Valentines Day alone many times and I still had a good time. Even when I was in a relationship (with the man who is now my husband) we were apart for Valentines Day, and instead of sitting around feeling sorry for myself I spent it with friends and had a great time.

Enjoy this special, over-commercialized holiday and take some time out of your busy life to spend time with people who you care about. You could spend some quality time with friends, family, or a significant other…or maybe just pamper yourself! The point- MAKE THE BEST OF IT AND ENJOY IT! ❤ Happy Valentines Day!

Vday